Bsas4u Tour Reviews – Daytours4u http://www.daytours4u.com/en Tours, activities and travel tips in South America Fri, 15 Jun 2018 14:38:33 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.7.8 96832869 Bsas4u Review: Political Tour in Buenos Aires http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/review-political-tour-in-buenos-aires/ Thu, 22 Mar 2018 12:00:17 +0000 http://www.daytours4u.com/en/?p=12187 The Political Tour: Traces of Buenos Aires is a cultural experience that stands out among the classic city tours of the Argentine capital, since it shows emblematic places and nooks that are truly hidden from the downtown of Buenos Aires and resignifies them in their historical context. The Argentine society is so politically active that [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: Political Tour in Buenos Aires appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
The Political Tour: Traces of Buenos Aires is a cultural experience that stands out among the classic city tours of the Argentine capital, since it shows emblematic places and nooks that are truly hidden from the downtown of Buenos Aires and resignifies them in their historical context. The Argentine society is so politically active that you can’t miss this tour specially designed to discover the nuances of this interesting and complex country.

The Political Tour in Buenos Aires explores the city from another perspective / Photo: Daytours4u

This guided walking tour took place on a Wednesday and started at 11:00 a.m., not a minute late nor a minute early. The punctuality of our guide and the group of tourists that took the tour were essential to take advantage of every second of the tour and move forward through the microcentro at a steady pace. The first place we visited was the Church of San Ignacio, the oldest in the city built between 1686 and 1722. Here, our guide explained the importance of Catholicism in the country and its role during the colonial era.

We then walked to the monument dedicated to General Julio Argentino Roca, the place where we were able to realize why it is a political tour and not a historical one, because rather than narrating the facts, our guide presented us with at least two versions of the opinion that the Argentines have about Roca: was he a hero or a genocide? This opportunity to reflect and even debate was made possible during the entire trip, especially regarding sensitive issues such as the last Argentine dictatorship that took place between 1976 and 1983.

The guided tour also includes inside information about Buenos Aires architecture

We also visited the Metropolitan Cathedral of Buenos Aires; not for religious reasons, but rather for historical ones, since the Mausoleum of José de San Martín -one of the liberators of America-is there. We also discovered the most important events in the Plaza de Mayo and the Casa Rosada (seat of the Executive Power of the Argentine Republic), as well as the succession of multiple presidents in just 11 days during the year 2001.

We had room to learn a bit about the charming and varied architecture of downtown Buenos Aires and even entered a secret garden, known by very few locals, which is located inside a convent on Reconquista Street. A true oasis in the middle of Buenos Aires euphoric everyday life! We also had the opportunity to talk about Maria Eva Duarte de Perón and our guide did his best so that at the end of the tour we would remember Evita for what she meant for Argentina and not for the musical starring Madonna.

Our tour ended at the popular Plaza Dorrego in San Telmo where we were lucky enough to see the talented artists from the area performing their musical presentations. This excursion was undoubtedly an excellent opportunity to discover the complexity of Buenos Aires and as we are just a few days away from commemorating the Day of Remembrance for Truth and Justice for the missing people from the last military dictatorship (March 24) it seems appropriate to offer this tour as an enlightening and unique experience.

The tour, ideal to discover the complexity of Buenos Aires, ended at the Plaza Dorrego in San Telmo / Photo: Daytours4u

Details about the Political Tour in Buenos Aires

– Includes bilingual guide and private walking tour.

– Days and hours: Monday at 10:30 a.m. and Wednesday at 11:00 a.m.

– Length: 4 hours approximately.

– Price: USD 15

Book online the Political Tour: Traces of Buenos Aires

By: Keilma Rojas, web content editor for Daytours4u

The post Bsas4u Review: Political Tour in Buenos Aires appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
12187
Bsas4u Review: Rojo Tango http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/bsas4u-review-rojo-tango/ Wed, 21 Oct 2015 13:38:16 +0000 http://daytours4u.com/en/?p=8446 Buenos Aires is home to an array of tango houses, each with different styles, dances, menus, and designs. Of all the options in the tango capital of the world, Rojo Tango offers the only VIP treatment. Indeed, no other has such a sophisticated and elegant setting – the internationally renowned Faena Hotel.   Faena Hotel: Elegance [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: Rojo Tango appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
Buenos Aires is home to an array of tango houses, each with different styles, dances, menus, and designs. Of all the options in the tango capital of the world, Rojo Tango offers the only VIP treatment. Indeed, no other has such a sophisticated and elegant setting – the internationally renowned Faena Hotel.

 

Faena Hotel: Elegance and Sophistication

Located in the district of Puerto Madero, this five star hotel is an impressive building that offers luxurious rooms, a spa, swimming pools, a white and gold decorated bistrô with an international menu, and a wine cellar that holds a wide range of extraordinary Argentinian wines. In addition to being a great option for those who can afford a cultured trip to Buenos Aires, Rojo Tango is also the most exclusive way to spend an unforgettable night in this hotel’s tango house.

hotel faena

The elegant bistro inside Faena Hotel. / Photograph: Daytours4u

 

An Intimate Evening of Luxury

With an endless corridor of red curtains and sober lights, the Rojo Tango entrance seduces visitors with a mysterious magic of a bygone era. This seemingly infinite crimson hallway is only a preview of what is to follow when entering the intensely colourful performance room filled with candlelit tables and a subtle touch of cabaret decor. The space is cosy and intimate: there are no more than 100 seats and a small number of tables near the stage. The close connection that the public has with the performers is one of the main attractions of this tango house.

For the most complete tango experience, do not hesitate to sample the fabulous 3 course house meal before the show. For starters, the shrimp cocktail is recommended, while for the main dish there is an exquisite variety which includes pink salmon with semolina gnocchi and tomato fondue. To finish, there is nothing better than a marquee bitter chocolate dessert. This special gastronomic experience can be enjoyed with Baron B champagnes, Terrazas Reserva Malbec, Chardonnay, or a selection of non-alcoholic beverages.

rojotango_mesas

The arrangement of the tables allows for an intimate view of the show. / Photograph: Daytours4u

 

Rojo Tango: Passion & Sensuality

Those travelers who have spent a magically beautiful night in the Argentine capital watching tango may not see the value in catching another show, but the truth is that Rojo Tango offers exclusivity above all others. This house exhibits first class service and a unique cabaret style; it is a place where you can intimately appreciate the dancers, the choreography, and the rhythm of the tango orchestra.

rojotango_show

The show impresses with its intense steps and complex choreography. / Photograph: Daytours4u

Marked by intense and seductive dance moves, the Rojo Tango show is breathtaking. Each number is comprised of dancers in groups or in pairs that are backed by two magnificent legendary Tango singers, who together make stunning entries throughout the spectacle. This sensual and refined experience is perfect for couples who want to spend a special night together, but be warned, this is a racy show and it is not recommended for the conservatives amongst you.

rojotango_show2

An exciting evening that will appeal to all the senses. / Photograph: Daytours4u

To enjoy an elegant and exciting night at Rojo Tango is to create a once in a lifetime memory. Every minute in the red hall is one of luxury and extravagance, and this phenomenal performance will undoubtedly be one of the highlights of your trip.

To book this, and other unforgettable experiences, visit our website and browse the best tours and activities in Buenos Aires.

By: Luiza Cavalcante / Translated by: Simon Hall

The post Bsas4u Review: Rojo Tango appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
8446
Bsas4u Review: The Golden Age of Tango at Tango Porteño http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/golden-age-of-tango-tango-porteno/ Mon, 14 Sep 2015 13:55:28 +0000 http://daytours4u.com/en/?p=7568 Buenos Aires is a place that has its own particular charm in every season of the year. Our visit to Tango Porteño was on a rainy winter day, adding its own magic to a beautiful night of tango in Argentina’s capital city. Just a few steps from one of the most iconic landmarks in Buenos [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: The Golden Age of Tango at Tango Porteño appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
Buenos Aires is a place that has its own particular charm in every season of the year. Our visit to Tango Porteño was on a rainy winter day, adding its own magic to a beautiful night of tango in Argentina’s capital city. Just a few steps from one of the most iconic landmarks in Buenos Aires, Tango Porteño‘s grand theatre offer much more than a tango show.

Tango Porteño: Yesterday a cinema, today a theatre

Located close to the famous Obelisk and Teatro Colón, two postcard attractions in the city, on the emblematic Avenue 9 de Julio in the heart of the city centre, Tango Porteño’s building once housed one of the first cinemas founded in Argentina. The entrance with its bright lightbulbs and large old-school cinema posters immediately set the scene for a cinematic experience.

Entering through the reception and passing through the curtains, the theatre reveals details from another era, transporting us back in time. We walked around to get a sense of the place and came to the conclusion that no matter where you sit in the theatre, you’ll have a great view of the show.

Dinner: Strolling through the neighbourhoods of Buenos Aires

The menu presents the dishes in an original way. Each dish is named after a city neighbourhood, giving life to the historical origins of tango and milongas in Buenos Aires. You’ll be provided with wine (or beer) and water. An example of a starter is a creamy onion and leek soup accompanied by homemade toast and named after the barrio Flores. For the main course, a bife de chorizo (a cut of steak), is always the best option to order in a tango house.

The tables inside Tango Porteño's theatre being laid for dinner

The tables being prepared for the dinner service / Photo by Daytours4u

The portions are generous, and the meat is served to your order: jugoso (juicy, or rare), al punto (to the point, or medium rare), or cocida (well done). Represented by the Parque Patricios neighbourhood, it is accompanied by rustic baked potatoes. For a complete dining experience, we finished off the meal with a delicious dessert from the Montserrat neighbourhood: chocolate mousse.

The Tango Show: The Golden Age of Tango

This year’s tango show is named the Golden Age of Tango, recreating the magic of the forties, tango’s golden years in Buenos Aires. Against the background of the live tango band, the dancers flit across the broad stage. Coloured lights illuminate the intense choreography carried out by the couples and a replica of a traditional old house that wouldn’t be out of place in San Telmo. Throughout the show, Astor Piazzolla, a tango legend, is honoured by a projection that displays against the stage while the band plays instrumental solos.

The dance numbers are varied, all with a significant touch of sophistication, touching on the style of broadway musicals. This is true not just of the dancers and their choreography, but also from their costumes and performances, with everything working together to evoke this golden ago.

A couple on stage during the tango show

Be blown away by the incredible dancing at Tango Porteño | Photo by Daytours4u

Buenos Aires is a city that inspires you on every street you walk, whether it’s thanks to the architectural details, the rich history, the soundtrack of tango echoing through the narrow streets of downtown, or the never-ending list of cultural, gastronomic and tourist activities. Be inspired by a true tango experience in Argentina’s capital with a magical night at Tango Porteño with Bsas4u!

Book a tango show at Tango Porteño

By: Luiza Cavalcante | Adapted by Nicole Eberhard

The post Bsas4u Review: The Golden Age of Tango at Tango Porteño appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
7568
Bsas4u Review: El Viejo Almacén Tango Show http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/el-viejo-almacen/ Wed, 26 Aug 2015 10:00:33 +0000 http://bsas4u.com/blog/en/?p=1151 With so many tango shows in Buenos Aires offering everything from broadway spectaculars to intimate theatre experiences, it’s nice to still have the option of an authentic and bohemian tango show in a historic building. El Viejo Almacén offers just that. The laid-back vibe attracts not just tourists looking for a traditional tango experience, but also [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: El Viejo Almacén Tango Show appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
With so many tango shows in Buenos Aires offering everything from broadway spectaculars to intimate theatre experiences, it’s nice to still have the option of an authentic and bohemian tango show in a historic building. El Viejo Almacén offers just that.

The laid-back vibe attracts not just tourists looking for a traditional tango experience, but also locals and tango enthusiasts who appreciate the authenticity of this long-running tango show.

The tango band on stage at El Viejo Almacen

Enjoy an authentic evening of tango at El Viejo Almacén / Credit: Daytours4u

Authentic El Viejo Almacén

One of the most appealing aspects of El Viejo Almacén, besides the tango show itself, is its location. It is housed in the historic neighbourhood of San Telmo, on the corner of Independencia and Balcarce. The building dates back to the early 18th century. First a warehouse, then a hospital for injured soldiers, the building started becoming a place of cultural importance in the early twentieth century when people would come to listen to popular music. Around 1969, it started gaining its reputation for tango, attracting many big names in tango at the time. Today it maintains this reputation as it continues to honour the tango’s roots in the heart of Buenos Aires.

El Viejo Almacén in the 1970's / Source

El Viejo Almacén in the 1970’s / Source

The Dining Experience

The tango show at El Viejo Almacén can be booked with dinner. This takes place at the tango house’s restaurant, in a building opposite the historic theatre. This outwardly modest building echoes the simple architecture of the original building while the interior is elegantly decorated. You will be seated in one of the three intimate dining rooms, spanning different floors of the restaurant. A 3-course meal awaits you with multiple options for each course.

I tried the leek soup starter, which was just what I needed to warm up and a cold winter’s night. This was followed by the house classic: bife de chorizo, a sumptuous piece of steak, and topped off by a delicious chocolate mousse. The food was delicious, as was the red wine included in the meal. There is also the option of beer and sodas.

Chocolate mousse

The final course of dinner: chocolate mousse / Credit: Daytours4u

The Tango Show

After dinner, we were escorted the few metres across the road to the old ‘tangueria’ – the tango house. It’s a simple and intimate building, with a compact first floor and an upper balcony for those who book the VIP service. A small stage is the centre of attention with its painted backdrop of the building’s exterior. The size of the theatre allows you an up-close view of all the action and adds to the intimate nature of the tango. It also gives you a chance to take photos, something that not all tango houses allow.

A waiter came around to take our drinks order. 2 complimentary glasses of the drink of your choice are included (the options are champagne, wine, beer, or a non-alcoholic drink). Then we were ready to sit back, relax and enjoy the show.

Two dancers on stage at El Viejo Almacen

Enjoy a close-up view of tango in an intimate setting / Credit: Daytours4u

El Viejo Almacén’s tango show is divided into two halves. This first act consists of traditional tango and Milonga dances, recalling tango’s roots. In between dances, the band also plays tango classics, and a wonderful singer entertains with memorable tango songs. The mid-show number is perhaps the most memorable of any tango house I’ve been to. A folklore group from Northern Argentina performs with traditional songs from this part of the country. It’s an upbeat part of the show which highlights another important cultural aspect of Argentina and added a special element to the show.

The second act of the show gives way to individual couples performing sensual routines in the style of neo-tango. This is the tango more familiar to many from movies and dancing shows, filled with incredible legwork, spins and lifts, and oozing seduction with every step. Another highlight from the second act is one of the singer’s getting the whole audience to sing along to a classic tango number.

The view from the audience of the tango show

The small theatre makes for a memorable setting / Credit: Daytours4u

The audience interaction and small setting make this tango show a unique experience. While it doesn’t have the grand theatrics of many other tango houses, the show is anything but dull. The one and a half hour show is captivating from start to finish, with a little bit of something for everyone. You’re sure to leave like I did, feeling like you just witnessed and took part in a truly authentic tango experience.

Click here to book a tango show at El Viejo Almacen

 

By: Nicole Eberhard 

The post Bsas4u Review: El Viejo Almacén Tango Show appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
4083
Bsas4u Review: Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango Show http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/esquina-carlos-gardel/ Mon, 10 Aug 2015 10:30:31 +0000 http://bsas4u.com/blog/en/?p=1724 One of the most elegant tango houses in the city, Esquina Carlos Gardel is located on the street Carlos Gardel in the Abasto neighbourhood, just around the corner from the statue of the singer himself. This building was previously home to restaurant and family-run hotel Chanta Cuatro, which opened in 1893 and was the meeting point of [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango Show appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
One of the most elegant tango houses in the city, Esquina Carlos Gardel is located on the street Carlos Gardel in the Abasto neighbourhood, just around the corner from the statue of the singer himself. This building was previously home to restaurant and family-run hotel Chanta Cuatro, which opened in 1893 and was the meeting point of Carlos Gardel and his friends. Today, built and decorated like a 30’s cabaret theatre, complete with the luxury, refinement and glamour that defined that decade, the venue takes you back in time to the golden era of Tango in Buenos Aires.

The theatre and tables set for dinner at the tango house

Enjoy an exquisite tango show at Esquina Carlos Gardel / Credit: Daytours4u

Esquina Carlos Gardel’s doors open at exactly 20:30. Upon arrival, we were greeted by hostesses dressed in accordance with the 30s theme, who accompanied us to our allocated table. The dining hall is not particularly large, but it’s extremely neat and orderly, ensuring that all visitors are comfortable and preparing them for a more intimate show.

The dinner at Esquina Carlos Gardel

As is usually the case at the tango houses, dinner is served before the show. We had three options for the starter, main course and dessert, as well as the option of white wine or red wine; we chose red, for it seems to complement tango perfectly! Interestingly, all the dishes are named after Carlos Gardel tangos and the menu features classic Argentinean food, such as bife chorizo ​​and dulce de leche. However, we decided to order something a little less typical this time; for the starter, we chose “Golondrinas” (salmon pate with citrus bread) and “Rubias de NY” (rolls of mozzarella stuffed with prosciutto and tomato), for the main “Sus ojos se cerraron” (grilled salmon in a yellow pepper and vanilla sauce) and for dessert “Amargura” (chocolate mousse).

Starter

“Rubias de NY” – rolls of mozzarella stuffed with prosciutto and tomato / Credit: Daytours4u

Main Course

“Sus ojos se cerraron” – grilled salmon in a yellow pepper and vanilla sauce / Credit: Daytours4u

Dessert

“Amargura” – chocolate mousse / Credit: Daytours4u

The Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango show

The Tango show began promptly at 22:15, as we were informed when we arrived. The orchestra is situated above the stage, where they play music to guide the dancers through the two-hour show. The show is composed of acts ranging from comedy to drama, which tell the story of Abasto’s fame at the time. There is a lead singer dressed as Gardel, who directs the whole story, and there are several other dance acts, some who dance to just the singer, others to just the orchestra. The costumes are highly detailed, a significant feature as it contributes towards the 30s feel that the place offers.

Esquina Carlos Gardel is an interesting experience for those who already know a bit about tango and the story of Carlos Gardel, and for those who want to learn more about the cultural heritage of Argentina. It is an elegant show that surpasses the Broadway style and creates intimacy and closeness with its audience.

If you’re looking for a sophisticated tango show in an authentic tango neighbourhood, paying homage to a tango legend, then the Esquina Carlos Gardel tango show is for you. There are many other tango shows in Buenos Aires catering to different styles and budgets. To help you decide which one is for you, read our guide to choosing your tango show.

Click here to book the Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango Show

By: Anna Flavia de Castro / Adapted by Nicole Eberhard

The post Bsas4u Review: Esquina Carlos Gardel Tango Show appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
4085
Bsas4u Review: Intensive Spanish Course in Buenos Aires http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/spanish-course-in-buenos-aires/ Wed, 22 Jul 2015 10:00:54 +0000 http://daytours4u.com/en/?p=5507 When travelling in Argentina and the rest of South America, knowing some basic Spanish is extremely useful. Starting your travels with an intensive Spanish course in Buenos Aires is the perfect way to kickstart your Spanish skills. Buenos Aires is home to the highly rated Spanish school, Expanish. They offer courses for every level and [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: Intensive Spanish Course in Buenos Aires appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
When travelling in Argentina and the rest of South America, knowing some basic Spanish is extremely useful. Starting your travels with an intensive Spanish course in Buenos Aires is the perfect way to kickstart your Spanish skills.

Buenos Aires is home to the highly rated Spanish school, Expanish. They offer courses for every level and need, with crash courses, one-on-one lessons, group lessons and varying levels of intense courses. It’s a one stop shop for learning Spanish.

A warm welcome awaits at Expanish / Photo courtesy of Expanish

Embark on a Spanish course in Buenos Aires / Photo courtesy of Expanish

Click here to book your Spanish course in Buenos Aires

Studying at Expanish

I decided to brush up on my Spanish and signed up for one week of the Intensive Spanish 20. The process started smoothly. The school communicated everything I needed to do to complete my registration, sent me helpful documents and gave the week’s schedule well in advance.

On Monday morning, I arrived at the school bright and early. The building is located in downtown Buenos Aires, a short walk from Puerto Madero, Plaza de Mayo and Florida Street. The school has recently been redecorated, and it is extremely chic, modern and welcoming. There is a big chill-out area for students, which includes many magazines in Spanish, couches, a Nespresso machine, computers and free wifi.

The chill out area for students

The chill out area / Photo courtesy of Expanish

The classrooms are modern and comfortable, and there is a great kitchen as well for people to enjoy a snack or lunch.

The course starts with a test. But don’t be put off, it’s a very relaxed test to check your level of Spanish grammar. This is followed by a brief chat with a Spanish teacher to check your spoken level of Spanish and what you want to get out of your Spanish classes.

The kitchen area

Take a break to eat after your Spanish lessons / Photo courtesy of Expanish

Everyone then regroups for an introductory chat, that includes some helpful tips for getting around Buenos Aires, and an overview of the many extracurricular activities that Expanish offers – a great way to meet new people and explore the city. Every student receives a welcome pack, packed with maps, a list of useful places near the school, and handy information on practical things like buying a phone in Argentina, getting a SUBE card and staying safe.

After being assigned a group according to your level, the classes begin!

One of the classrooms

Enjoy Spanish lessons in a friendly environment / Photo courtesy of Expanish

The Spanish lessons

The Intensive Spanish Course is 20 hours of Spanish a week. Classes are held for four hours everyday, starting either at 9am, or 2pm, depending on your preference.

I was extremely happy with my class. An engaging teacher, a fun group of students, interesting material and a lot of learning in a relaxed environment made me feel like I got a lot out of the week, and left with a lot more confidence to speak Spanish (and considerably better grammar)!

Students chilling out in the lounge of Expanish

Expanish encourages students to interact with each other in Spanish / Photo courtesy of Expanish

One of the best features of the school is the friendly environment it nurtures. While the classes are small, with plenty of individual attention and group interaction, during breaks you have many opportunities to mingle with students from other classes.

Everyone is encouraged to interact in Spanish outside of the classroom as well, and they do. The large pool of international travellers, with people from Brazil, to Switzerland, to Japan, happily interact in Spanish as far as possible, which adds to the learning experience. I found this to be such a good complement to the lessons as I lived and breathed Spanish for a week.

Booking your Spanish lessons

There are three options to choose from, depending on your time frame and your Spanish needs:

  1. A Spanish Crash Course of just one lesson to teach you basic survival phrases;
  2. The Intensive Spanish Course, that I did, which is 20 hours of Spanish per week;
  3. The Super Intensive Spanish Course which is 30 hours a week.

You can opt to study for one day, one week or longer.

Don’t miss out on the opportunity to communicate with locals and make your travels around Argentina more memorable. Book your Spanish course in Buenos Aires today!

By: Nicole Eberhard

The post Bsas4u Review: Intensive Spanish Course in Buenos Aires appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
5507
Bsas4u Review: Café de los Angelitos Tango Show http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/review-cafe-de-los-angelitos/ Mon, 20 Jul 2015 10:00:36 +0000 http://daytours4u.com/en/?p=5416 As one of the cafés notables (notable cafés) of Buenos Aires, and located on the corner of Rivadavia and Rincón Avenue, Café de los Angelitos is one of those special places that transports you back in time. A warm feeling of nostalgia envelops you when you enter the Café’s grand salon. Your eyes immediately go [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: Café de los Angelitos Tango Show appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
As one of the cafés notables (notable cafés) of Buenos Aires, and located on the corner of Rivadavia and Rincón Avenue, Café de los Angelitos is one of those special places that transports you back in time. A warm feeling of nostalgia envelops you when you enter the Café’s grand salon. Your eyes immediately go to the walls full of old photographs and tango themed sets of stained glass at the entrance and on the walls, with a glowing chandelier in the centre of the ceiling.

Hidden behind this classic and traditional café in the heart of the Argentine capital is the theatre where the magic happens: the incredible Café de los Angelitos tango show.

Book this Café de los Angelitos Tango Show

A Café with over 100 years of history

Opened in 1890 under the name “Bar Rivadavia,” Café de los Angelitos carries many legends and memories. One of the most important facts about this place’s history is that it was one of the cafés most frequented by the great Argentine tango icon Carlos Gardel at the beginning of his career and who years later wrote a famous song in honour of this café, with the title named after this special place.

One option for those who book the tango show without a transfer is to get to know the location a bit better by going early to have a coffee and a medialuna (a pastry similar in look and shape to a croissant, but with a sweeter dough). If you arrive in the late afternoon you’ll witness the setting sun seep into the café through the large glass windows, setting the scene for a magical evening.

The interior of Cafe de los Angelitos

Inside the café / Credit: Daytours4u

The café is full of small details that transport you back to the past, such as the sugar which is served in cubes wrapped in paper. Once you’ve taken in this room steeped in history, it’s time to move into the theatre for the tango show.

Before the tango show: a full dinner theatre

Enter the theatre of Café de los Angelitos before the show starts, where the service begins with dinner. Served in three courses with several options for each course (starter, main course and dessert), making the decision is difficult as the descriptions of all the dishes are mouthwatering. The red wine to accompany it is customary. I started with a mini onion and goat cheese tart, followed by a generous piece of steak for main course, cooked to perfection and accompanied by rustic potatoes, and chocolate mousse for the grand finale.

The tables inside the theatre set for dinner | Café de los Angelitos

The tables meticulously set for dinner / Credit: Daytours4u

The tango show: nostalgia & emotion

After dinner, the stage is prepared for the show. The red curtain rises and the band appears lit up on a mini-stage above the main stage. The rhythm of the start of the show is dramatic as the dancers begin to conquer the stage with their intense choreography. Numerous numbers are performed, ranging from solos, to couples and group dances occupying the entire stage.

Dancers and singer on stage with the band above

Singer and dancers follow the rhythm of the band / Credit: Daytours4u

Each dance number thrills and amazes in its own way. One of the most impressive dances of the show is with a couple where the dancer’s dress is part of the large curtain that graces the space. Her partner carries and gently drags her by dress, moving both her and the curtain along with his steps and movements. A truly remarkable dance!

The dancer's dress is a continuation of the curtain

The magical curtain dance / Credit: Daytours4u

Experience this memorable tango show in Buenos Aires for yourself by booking your place with Bsas4u.

By: Luiza Cavalcante / Adapted by Nicole Eberhard

The post Bsas4u Review: Café de los Angelitos Tango Show appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
5416
Bsas4u Review: Polo Day Tour http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/polo-day-tour-buenos-aires/ Tue, 09 Dec 2014 17:57:01 +0000 http://daytours4u.com/en/?p=5454 Travelling around Argentina, I’ve been to tango shows, football stadiums and tried the famous Argentine Asado (or should I say a delicious god-sent meat feast?). Then I thought about venturing into something different: learning a bit more about Polo, which is an extremely famous sport activity here in Argentina. I’ve always wanted to know more about [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: Polo Day Tour appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
Travelling around Argentina, I’ve been to tango shows, football stadiums and tried the famous Argentine Asado (or should I say a delicious god-sent meat feast?). Then I thought about venturing into something different: learning a bit more about Polo, which is an extremely famous sport activity here in Argentina.

I’ve always wanted to know more about this sport, but had never actually had the opportunity to try it myself. Seeing how big it is in porteño land, I could not miss the chance of taking part in a Polo Day Tour Buenos Aires.

When I arrived at the ranch, around 10am, I was greeted with a ravishing breakfast with different types of breads, cakes, juice, and the famous medialunas (croissant’s Argentine cousin) − more than enough to start off my adventure.  Ah, and it’s worth mentioning I was amidst divine green surroundings, just 45 minutes away from the city, surrounded by green vegetation and stunning horses.

Una foto publicada por daytours4u (@daytours4u) el

&nbsp

Right after the lovely breakfast, I wandered out and about to explore the area and, honestly, I’m not sure if it the amount of great food and friendly atmosphere had clouded my judgment, but I completely fell in love with the place! The horses were majestic and by this time some people had already started on the endurance riding.

It turns out I wanted to do everything at once, if possible! A truly touching moment was witnessing some children with down syndrome and autism taking park in the equine therapy, which improves their social behaviour.

Click here to book a Polo Day Tour Buenos Aires!

As soon as I was feeling slightly hungry, I was invited to join a traditional Argentine Asado. I swear I was about to pack my things and move in to this place, with all the marvellous empanadas and several different meat cuts swinging in front of me! That was the perfect moment to get to know all these other people who were also taking the tour, as well as the friendly staff.

We were saving energy because we knew that at 3pm we would have an exciting Polo class. I remember then why I was so interested in trying this sport in the first place: it’s a real pleasure to practice a sport with such an intelligent animal. Besides, the staff is beyond attentive and considerate with each and everyone’s needs, not to mention punctual – which was a key point during this tour since we were in a very large group.

I was a little afraid at first, after all it was my first ever contact with the sport, but with the help and sympathy of all the professionals there I gained a little more confidence and I could practice a little of what I learned in the introductory class. Some of the more experienced people could actually practice the sport thoroughly, but while I just experienced it as a beginner, I can say it made my day!

Polo Match in Buenos Aires

Time to watch the professional players take over the field / source

At 16:30pm, the Polo exhibition match kicked off in a immense field, and I can safely say: it is a beautiful sport to watch, and I was delighted to admire how easy these professional players made it seem from the outside. I was caught between watching them and exploring the table with all the delicious appetisers, which included various types of cheeses, salamis, swiss roll with dulce de leche, medialunas and other treats!

Everyone seemed quite excited to watch the sports show, and I honestly cannot think of better escape from the city chaos than a Polo Day Tour in Buenos Aires!

By Thalles Santos / Adaptation Carolina Galli

The post Bsas4u Review: Polo Day Tour appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
5454
Bsas4u Review: iPhoneography Smartphone Photo Tour http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/iphoneography/ Fri, 26 Sep 2014 10:00:03 +0000 http://bsas4u.com/blog/en/?p=3127 Have you ever had that moment when you see something amazing on your travels but your camera is not immediately at hand? What is the one thing you always have with you? That’s right, your smartphone. The recent improvement in the quality of smartphone cameras has irrevocably changed travel photography. It’s no surprise then that photography [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: iPhoneography Smartphone Photo Tour appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
Have you ever had that moment when you see something amazing on your travels but your camera is not immediately at hand? What is the one thing you always have with you? That’s right, your smartphone.

The recent improvement in the quality of smartphone cameras has irrevocably changed travel photography. It’s no surprise then that photography tours have started adapting to include iPhone and smartphone photo tours.

Street Photography in Palermo / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

Street Photography in Palermo / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

Click here to book this activity

Smartphone Photo Tours

One of our Buenos Aires photography tour offerings is the iPhoneography Smartphone Photo Tour. If you don’t have an iPhone don’t fear! Any smartphone or tablet with a good camera will do. The recommended apps are available for both iPhone and Android operating systems.

Once you have booked the tour you are sent a welcoming email with a guide to the best photography and editing apps (the only essential app for the tour is Snapseed, which is free on iTunes and Google Play). At the start of the tour you are also given a  welcoming pack with a smartphone photography guide and a helpful list of suggestions of things to do and see in Buenos Aires.

Capturing the details / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

Capturing the details / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

This iPhoneography tour started at a café in the trendy Palermo Soho where the group was met by Bereissa, our tour guide and professional photographer, from Foto Ruta. She start by giving us a short photography tutorial, demonstrating the capabilities of the iPhone’s camera, and giving expert tips and guidelines for composing shots and taking interesting pictures. Then it was time to hit the streets of Palermo and put her advice into practice.

From Plaza Serrano with its bustling feria (market) to the hidden alleys and interesting side streets in Palermo, we wandered around, exercising our creative muscles. Through the focus lens of our smartphones, we sought out interesting angles, unusual subjects, tiny details in the streets, and eye-catching reflections. All this was under the watchful eye of Bereissa, who was at hand to dispense advice and suggestions.

Mercado de los Pulgas / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

Mercado de las Pulgas / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

We then jumped into a taxi and headed to Mercado de las Pulgas, a giant antique / furniture / flea market in nearby Colegiales. This market is a fascinating place to walk around with its huge collection of furniture and antiques. Filled to the brim with interesting “junk” and even more interesting people, the time spent snapping away here went by in a flash.

The smartphone photography tour ended at another coffee shop, with a complimentary drink of our choice. Here we were guided through the editing apps, learning how to turn our tweak and enhance our snaps. Each person on the tour chose their favourite two photos, edited them and then we reviewed them in an informative feedback session.

Playing with the iPhone's editing apps / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

Playing with the iPhone’s editing apps / Credit: Nicole Eberhard

The iPhoneography Experience

As someone who is guilty of point-and-shoot photography while travelling, I was curious to see how much I could learn on a 4-hour tour. The tutorial and feedback session gave me great ideas as well as some positive reinforcement and useful advice for future photography. At the end of the day I was pretty impressed at how my pictures turned out, and will definitely be using the travel photography tips I learnt in the future.

This professionally guided photo tour is more than a photography experience; it is also a great alternative city tour. Through the lens of my camera, I started seeing the city from a whole new perspective. Rather than focusing on the big tourist attractions and landmarks, I changed my focus to the small details in the streets and the people – the very things that make up the fabric of the city.

Exploring the city through your camera lens

You can book this innovative and unique Smartphone Photo Tour online, and learn how to get the most out of you smartphone photography.

For those more interested in using their traditional cameras, digital or SLR, we also offer a range of other exciting photography tours. Reserve your place now and ensure that your travel photographs of Buenos Aires make everyone at home green with envy!

For more photographic inspiration of Buenos Aires, follow bsas4u on instagram or tweet us a picture of your travels in Buenos Aires!

By Nicole Eberhard

The post Bsas4u Review: iPhoneography Smartphone Photo Tour appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
3127
Bsas4u Review: Glorias Argentinas at Tango Porteño http://www.daytours4u.com/en/bsas4u/glorias-argentinas-tango-porteno/ Wed, 13 Aug 2014 11:14:43 +0000 http://bsas4u.com/blog/en/?p=3197 If you’re looking for a Tango House that evokes a bit of glamour from the golden days, in both its venue and performance, look no further than Tango Porteño. Housed in the old Metro Goldwyn Mayer movie theatre, this renovated art deco venue is conveniently located in the heart of the city, a stone’s throw from the Obelisk [...]

The post Bsas4u Review: Glorias Argentinas at Tango Porteño appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
If you’re looking for a Tango House that evokes a bit of glamour from the golden days, in both its venue and performance, look no further than Tango Porteño. Housed in the old Metro Goldwyn Mayer movie theatre, this renovated art deco venue is conveniently located in the heart of the city, a stone’s throw from the Obelisk and right next to Teatro Colón.

Tango Porteño’s Art Deco Theatre

This converted theatre is a city treasure, not just for its nostalgic reminder of the glory days of cinema, but for its architecture as well. Buenos Aires is not just home to the classic Belle Époque architecture, but the cityscape has also been heavily influenced by the Art Deco style, which really took off in the 30’s and 40’s. While the outside of the old MGM theatre is a your typical old-school cinema experience, with the massive sign announcing the night’s performance framed by light bulbs, the inside of the theatre is decidedly art deco. The details are impeccably consistent, from the plush carpets contrasted against the gleaming wooden details, the rich colour scheme, and geometric shapes and patterns adorning the light fixtures and stage.

The vintage theatre was lovingly restored by the current owners in order to revive this particular period in Buenos Aires’s history. Not only does the theatre itself evoke the booming 40s, but the entire experience at Tango Porteño is a trip back to the glory days of the roaring 40s, and the heyday of Buenos Aires’s tango scene, where the dance’s popularity was at its peak before it was forced underground in the 50’s under the military government.

Book your tango show in Tango Porteño

Star Attraction: Nacha Guevara

Tango Porteño’s current program is a tribute to this glorious history. Titled Glorias Argentinas, the tango extravaganza is a celebration of some of Argentina’s most famous women.

If the classic theatre and Tango Porteño’s reputation for excellence are not draw card enough, the star of the show is Nacha Guevara, one of Argentina’s biggest stars. This singer-songwriter, dancer and actress from Mar de Plata, has had a long and illustrious career, achieving fame across Latin America and worldwide, with a résumé that includes Argentine films, broadway shows and, most notably, a highly successful singing career. A darling of the Argentine people, she has gone from a controversial underground star, to exiled artist and political advocate.

Her inclusion in Tango Porteño’s production is an inspired move, attracting more locals back to this iconic theatre. Guevara plays the role of Eva Perón and Tita Merello, belting out numbers from some of tango’s greatest legends as well as musical pieces the acclaimed musical Evita, ending the show with the iconic “Don’t Cry for me Argentina”.

Nacha Guevara as Evita Peron | Bsas4u

Nacha Guevara as Evita Peron / source

It’s fitting that Guevara has stepped into this role, as she was the first person to play the role of Evita in the Argentina version of Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Evita, titled “Eva, al gran musical argentino” – Eva, the great Argentinean musical. Listening to her powerfully belt out this iconic Argentine songs, full of emotion and stage presence, it is difficult to believe that Guevara is in her 70’s. Her flawless performance and star presence elevate this tango show into something truly special.

The Tango Show

Nacha Guevara’s performance alone is a compelling reason to book your tickets to Tango Porteño immediately. But let’s not forget about the tango, since it is a tango show after all. Tango Porteño’s Glorias Argentinas has found an enthralling balance between a traditional tango show and a musical spectacular, balancing classic tango numbers with modern pieces, traditional dancing with tricks, lifts and spins. It is a whirlwind tour through some of Argentina’s history, with diversity of tango styles to complement it – from milonguero to tango nuevo.

The combination of the incredible dancing, oozing with passion, the exquisite costumes and the spectacular tango band, makes for an memorable show, with something in it for everyone.

The tango show can be booked with or without dinner. The dinner option is highly recommended, with mouth-watering choices for each of the three courses, accompanied by wine, water or soft drinks. Adding to the authentic Porteño feel, each dish is named after a different barrio in Buenos Aires. If you book dinner, be sure to arrive punctually in order to enjoy all three courses before the show starts at 10:15. Dinner service starts at 8:30pm, and the service is quick and attentive.

Tango Porteño’s latest offering of Glorias Argentinas is not to be missed! Experience your own magical evening at Tango Porteño and be transported through time to the height of tango’s glamour and beyond. Nacha Guevara will be performing until the end of October so book your tickets now to avoid missing out!

New Year’s Eve at Tango Porteño

If you’re going to be in Buenos Aires over the festive season, why not celebrate new year’s eve at a tango show? Tango Porteño hosts one of the best new year’s eve parties in town, with a special tango performance, gala three-course dinner, drinks, a midnight toast and many surprises throughout the night. After the show, the theatre transforms into an exclusive and electrifying party for you to dance your way into 2015!

By Nicole Eberhard

The post Bsas4u Review: Glorias Argentinas at Tango Porteño appeared first on Daytours4u.

]]>
3197